Human Rights Delegation


Human Rights Delegation

The Human Rights Delegation

  • deals with matters of fundamental and human rights that are far-reaching and important in principle,
  • approves annually the Human Rights Centre?s operational plan and annual report,
  • functions also as a national cooperative body for actors in the sector of fundamental and human rights.

The Human Rights Centre has a Human Rights Delegation, which is composed of representatives of civil society, research into fundamental and human rights as well as other bodies that participate in promoting and safeguarding these rights. Its permanent members are the supreme overseers of legality, the special ombudsmen and a representative of the Sámi Parliament.

The Ombudsman appointed the Delegation on 17 March 2016 and designated 38 members who will serve for the term 1 April 2016-31 March 2020
Members of the Human Rights Delegation and the bodies they represent 1.4.2016- 31.3.2020

Data Protection Ombudsman Reijo Aarnio

Secretary General Kimmo Hakonen, Office of the Chancellor of Justice

Ombudsman for Children Tuomas Kurttila

Ombudsman for Equality Jukka Maarianvaara

Non-Discrimination Ombudsman Kirsi Pimiä

Deputy Parliamentary Ombudsman Maija Sakslin

Chair Tiina Sanila-Aikio, Sámi Parliament

Lawyer, Elina Nieminen,

Finnish association of people with physical disabilities

Professor, Pentti Arajärvi, University of Helsinki, University of Eastern Finland

Professor, Niklas Bruun, Hanken School of Economics

Executive Director, Elina Castrén, Finnish Refugee Advice Centre

Chair, Elina Grundström, Council for Mass Media

Senior Researcher, Leena Heinämäki, Northern Institute of Environmental and Minority Law, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland

Director of Advocacy and Programs, Inka Hetemäki, UNICEF Finland

Director, Chief Physician, Juha Hänninen, Terhokoti

Leading expert, Esa Iivonen, Mannerheim League for Child Welfare

Executive Director Markku Jokinen, Association of the Deaf

Professor of Didactics, Arto Kallioniemi, University of Helsinki

Chair, Antti Karanki, Trasek

Minister, Kalevi Kivistö, Association of Pensioners interest groups EETU ry

Managing director, Eija Koivuranta, Family Federation of Finland

Secretary General Kristiina Kumpula, Finnish Red Cross

Executive Director, Kalle Könkkölä, Kynnys, the Threshold Association,

Policy Director Niina Laajapuro, Amnesty International, Finnish section

Expert, Heli Markkula, Finnish Youth Cooperation – Allianssi

Secretary General, Kaari Mattila, Finnish League for Human Rights

Theological Advisor for the Archbishop, Petri Merenlahti, Evangelical-Lutheran Church of Finland

Chief Specialist, Eeva Nykänen National Institute for Health and Welfare

Secretary General, Paula Paloranta, Chamber of Commerce Finland

Director, Elina Pirjatanniemi, Åbo Akademi Human Rights Institute

Professor of Public Law, Pauli Rautiainen, University of Tampere

Professor, Antti Sajantila, University of Helsinki

Advisor, Kimmo Sasi

Service advisor, Hamed Shafae, City of Helsinki

Lawyer Ida Sulin, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities

Head of Research, Antti Teittinen, Finnish Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities

Author, Jarkko Tontti

Researcher, Riku Virtanen

For additional information on Human Rights Centre and its Human Rights Delegation