The first Parliamentary Ombudsman began his work at the beginning of 1920. The first official documents of the office were dated on the 7th of February, consequently the anniversary of the institution has been traditionally celebrated in early February.

Ombudsman Alopaeus and his deputy Ryti

The post of Parliamentary Ombudsman was created by the Form of Government Act, one of the several documents that formed the Constitution of Finland and which entered into force on 17.7.1919.

It was modelled on the Swedish ombudsman institution, which had existed since 1809.

The first Finnish Ombudsman, chosen on 19.12.1919, was Erik Alopeus and the person chosen to substitute for him was Risto Ryti, who later became President of the Republic.

Development of the institution

The Ombudsman's term in office was initially one year. It was changed to three years in 1933 and to the present four years in 1957.

The first Deputy Ombudsman post was created in 1972 and the second in 1998.

The present Ombudsman Petri Jääskeläinen is the 18th incumbent of the post. The Deputy-Ombudsmen are Maija Sakslin and Pasi Pölönen.

Jubilee books

A jubilee book has been published to mark the anniversaries of 50, 75, 80 and 90 years of the institution.

Parliamentary Ombudsman 90 years, a jubilee book. The articles are also available as .pdf-files.